just.yoga

May 10, 2010

Glee Flashmob Episode KL 2010


Okay before I go on any further, I have a confession. I have never watched  Glee before, I’ve listened to the soundtrack and watched some of the video clips on Youtube but to date I’ve yet to catch it on TV. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just I can’t seem to find the time to do so but that definitely will be changing soon !!

That being said, last Saturday I joined a whole load of people in one of the biggest Glee flashmob which was held in The Gardens. It was organised by RandomAlphabets who have organised numerous other flashmobs before this. Why did I join a bunch of people who love Glee if I haven’t even watched it yet then ? I liked the idea behind the whole unity thing and how 1Malaysia is not just about those who were born a Malaysian but instead should be about Malaysia as a whole including those who have migrated here and have chosen Malaysia as their home plus it all looked very interesting and challenging !!! 🙂

Glee

Glee

Those who know me can attest to the fact that I have two left feet and to make things worst my upper half usually doesn’t communicate with my lower half !!! They each have a mind of its own I tell you !! LOL To me this was a personal challenge to be out there overcoming my “stage fright” and to hopefully not make my self look too silly 😀

So I browsed through the Glee flashmob website to get more info. There was a tutorial on the site on the dance moves and so I looked through both of them and thought “Hey, now this is really awesome”. From then on began the need to watch the clip now and then to try to remember the moves.

Watching the flashmobs done all over the world got myself psyched myself even more and then reality hit me “OMG whole load of people are going to be around watching me dance !!!”. I got nervous and kept messing up the steps and my timing was way off. I was on the verge on giving up when I caught news of a practise session being held in The Gardens ballroom. Thank god for that because I almost gave up on the whole thing !!!

The first practise session was on the 4th May, Tuesday. 5th Floor, Ballroom, The Gardens Shopping Mall and there were two sessions. First one started at 4-7 pm and the second session was at 8-11pm. Seeing the numerous tweets pouring in got me excited and I spent even more time watching the rehearsal videos. I got there after 8pm due to the bad traffic and there were already loads of people around. Spent some time observing and trying to get into the rhythm. Compared to what I practise they seem to be moving at lightning speed !! I felt the innards of my stomach swirling and I started to doubt myself and wondered what the heck I was doing there.

The green team practising hard

The green team practising hard

KJ and Serge clowning around

KJ and Serge clowning around

Everyone rehearsing together

Everyone rehearsing together

Glee KL Practise Day 1

Blurred me in the foreground

 I tried to join the group nearest to the door so I can make a quick getaway once I figured out that I truly had two left feet !! 😀 Serge noticed that I was the only one without a badge and asked me to go register and get one. At this point I figured I was already there and I knew no one and no one knew me so even if I were to embarrass myself no one would know !!! hahahaha I got myself a green badge and join the green group. Thanks to Serge for being patient with the group and going through each step and making sure we start of on the right foot or was it left foot ?? 😀 After a few hours of practise we did a group rehearsal and I was throughly enjoying myself and felt more comfortable.

Serge ensuring everyone remembers each and every step

Serge ensuring everyone remembers each and every step

Another group rehearsal

Another group rehearsal

Debriefing session

Debriefing session

There was another practise session the next day but it was in Bukit Bintang Boys school. Kudos to Zain for securing the place on such a short notice. Alas this time around I wasn’t free to join them but trust me my mind was looping the practise video non stop throughout the whole day 😀 Here’s some pictures from Day 2’s rehearsal.

 

 

Then there was the final day of practise back at The Gardens ball room. This time around I arrived late and was shocked when I got there. The place was packed like a cans of sardines. What immediately caught my attention was this group of kids in the middle of the room and wow they were amazing. There were some new moves to remember as well and this time around I joined the group without wasting much time. I was feeling a little more confident now after a full day of rehearsal in my head 😀 Starworld was there to support as well and I this time around I was not alone and had 2 other friends who were already there. We had a great time practising and were super excited !!! Saturday better come fast 😀

The little kids practising

The little kids practising

There was a whole group of them

There was a whole group of them

They definitely were quick learners

They definitely were quick learners

Practise makes perfect

Practise makes perfect

Starworld was there

Starworld was there

Group practise

Group practise

Zain and team showing how it's done

Zain and team showing how it's done

Glee !!!

Glee !!!

Friday couldn’t have come and gone faster !! I was so looking forward to Saturday that I forced myself to stay in on Friday night so I could get a good nights rest !!! 😀 Made my way to The Gardens on Saturday feeling hyped and excited. The place was full of people even though it was just 12pm which was the time we were supposet to gather. I guess I wasn’t the only one excited over the whole thing 🙂 Got registered and made my way into the small hall to practise. Goodness I thought there were alot of people hanging outside of the room but there were even more inside the tiny room. Found a corner and began joining the practise. Within 5 minutes I was sweating like crazy. It was hot and stuffy but that didn’t stop us from ensuring we got the steps right.

Practising even till the last minute

Practising even till the last minute

Finally it was time for action and we were led away by our team leaders. I was in team 2R and we were led by Amelia. We gathered outside of GSC Signature and while waiting we practised even more 🙂 At least it was much more cooler outside and the fresher air helped loads. I heard screams from the floor above as they were being briefed and it just increased my anticipation and made me slightly nervous as well LOL Finally we were led back up into the room at the ballroom were we were briefed by Zain.

Picture by Joshua

Picture by Joshua

The final brief

The final brief

We were given some time to get some drinks and light refreshments and were to meet at the meeting point in Mid Valley at around 1:30pm. Everyone just lingered around waiting and wondering what’s gonna to happen next. Suddenly Amelia gathered us all up and said now we’re making our way back to The Gardens LOL So the whole group moved once again to The Gardens. People were definitely curious seeing huge crowds of people suddenly moving, all at the same time !!! We were led to the second floor in The Gardens where we had our final brief by Amelia. This is where we were suppose to be performing. I was joined by two other friends who wanted to watch what the Glee flasmob was all about. All around us were the other groups who were assigned to different area and levels of the mall. I was asked several times by random strangers as to which superstar was making an appearance !!! LOL

Passers-by stopped to watch as well

Passers-by stopped to watch as well

At 2pm sharp the Glee music blared over the speakers and the kids on the Concourse level started doing their routine.

Glee KL Flashmob begins

Glee KL Flashmob begins

Since the upper levels will start only towards the later part of the song, you can see a whole bunch of people running to the centre trying to catch a glimpse of the kids performing and turn run back to their respective designated area when it was near their turn to join in 😀

The upper floors joining in

The upper floors joining in

I was too busy waiting to jump in and had no time to watch the reaction of the people around us but I’m pretty sure it was priceless 🙂 All around The Gardens you could see people dancing in unison or at least almost in unison. If I wasn’t taking part I would have been blown away as well.

We were everywhere

We were everywhere

The song ended as quickly as it began and being true to the nature of flasmobs we left our spot but being Malaysia we made our way to the concourse floor because that’s where the Starworld Glee banners were and some of us wanted to take photos. 😀 We were waiting in line to have our pictures taken as well when suddenly once more the music started playing again. What’s this ? An encore performance ? The crowd went wild and once again we started our routine. This time around people who were watching tried to join in as well. It was just awesome !!

Encore

Encore

Glee

Glee

Finally getting our turn to get our pictures taken 🙂 We’re The Malaysian Biggest Glee On Star World!

*Pics taken RandomAlphabets Facebook 🙂 I was too busy with practise and the flashmob day itself to be bothered to bring my camera along lol

The few mins of fame !!! LOL

The few mins of fame !!! LOL

Here are more video’s of the whole thing 🙂

The encore performance

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

