just.yoga

May 26, 2010

Travelling with Google Maps on Android


Google Maps

Google Maps

One thing I missed most about my Nokia is the Garmin GPS software. At the time I got my HTC Tattoo, Google Maps still didn’t have turn-by-turn voice navigation so I never used my Tattoo for GPS at all until recently I was recently forced to. I was travelling up North to Tok Bali, Kelantan and wasn’t very familiar with the roads. Since I had my trusty Tattoo with my I decided to try out Google Maps and see how accurate it is in finding it.

Key in the destination

Key in the destination

Directions to the destination

Directions to the destination

The suggested route

The suggested route

Turn-by-turn display

Turn-by-turn display

One thing that I was quite worried about is how Google Maps is going to access data if and when the data connection drops. After all I’m travelling several hundred kilometers and along the way there’s bound to be certain stretch which doesn’t have proper coverage for voice let alone data. I’m happy to report that despite having no signal, the route was still displayed albeit without any terrain or roads other than the blue line guiding to the destination. It was quite a relief because getting lost in the midst of a 2 lane road in the middle of nowhere with no one to ask directions from is something I definitely did not want to experience.

The following night we wanted to go to Pasar Wakaf Che Yeh which is near Kota Bharu so once again I relied on Google Maps to get me there. Though some of the roads taken suggested looked kinda creepy and deserted we eventually reached our destination. Now the challenge of getting back to the resort in Tok Bali. A few minutes toying around with Google Maps presented me with an option to go in the reverse direction !!! Wow now that’s a really neat feature !! With a click of a button we made our way back to the resort πŸ™‚

Once back at the resort I figured there must be a way to save my current location so that even without an I could find my way back to the resort. After some search on Google I manage to find the answer. All you have to do is click on My Location and then on the map click on the blue arrow and a little blue button with the word My Location appears. Click on the blue button and you’ll be presented with another screen. Now click on the star on the top right and voila the location point is saved as a Starred Items which can be retrieved anytime with just a few clicks !! Going to the Menu and clicking on more bring you a menu where you can see all your Starred Items.

Option for reverse direction

Option for reverse direction

My Location option

My Location option

Adding it to the Starred Items

Adding it to the Starred Items

Starred Items

Starred Items

One thing I really love about using Google Maps is I don’t have to worry about loading maps before I start driving unlike the Garmin. One thing I wish Google would incorporate in their future release is the ability to rename the Starred Items, for now just have to stick to whatever Google detects the place you’re in as. I’m still learning how to maximise the usage of Google Maps and would love to know how you use Google Maps for your navigation needs. For now I can say although it doesn’t have voice navigation, Google Maps saved me at the time when I needed directions the most !!! πŸ˜€

Likes

  • Maps are readily available and automatically downloaded onto the device
  • Ability to share location with desktop version of Google Map
  • Layers
  • Google Labs

Β 

Dislikes

  • No voice navigation
  • Unable to change name for starred items
2 Comments »

  1. […] Google Maps basically allows you to search for a specific location, gets the direction from your current location to the desire destination and plots a route on the map. The bad thing about it ? Once you missed a turning, you have to figure your way back to the “blue” road For a more in depth review of navigating with Google Maps you can read my previous post here […]

    Pingback by HTC Desire – In Depth Review Pt 3 « just.yoga — June 26, 2010 @ 9:15 am | Reply

  2. […] Google Maps basically allows you to search for a specific location, gets the direction from your current location to the desired destination and plots a route on the map. The bad thing about it ? Once you missed a turning, you have to figure your way back to the “blue” road For a more in depth review of navigating with Google Maps you can read my previous post here […]

    Pingback by HTC Desire – In Depth Review Pt 3 « just.yoga — June 29, 2010 @ 11:38 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

