just.yoga

February 2, 2011

St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival 2011 – Singapore


!!! (Chk Chk Chk) ~ BEACH HOUSE ~ DEERHUNTER ~ FOALS ~ HOLY F*** LADYHAWKE ~  THE TEMPER TRAP ~ WARPAINT ~ YEASAYER – The lineup for Laneway Festival 2011, Singapore.

Rainway, Lameway, Mudway, Rainfest and my personal favourite Rainway Mudlane 2011 !! Everyone had their own words to describe Laneway Festival but despite it all, everyone left Fort Canning that night with an experience worth remembering. The pouring rain throughout the whole festival  failed to dampen the spirit and enthusiasm of the fans who were moving,shaking,shouting,singing,jumping the day/night away to their favourite band and tunes. It’s hard not to get carried away with the energy level of the crowd.

I have to admit when I first heard about Laneway Festival I had doubts about going for it, as I only knew a couple of bands and wasn’t too sure about lasting the 10-11 hours the festival was scheduled for. Now that I’ve survived Laneway and got the chance to meet some of the bands and experienced their music live; I AM A CHANGED MAN !!

The journey started off at 7:45 am, as we caught the first bus out of KL heading south to Singapore. With one stop in between, we only managed to get to the Singapore Immigration at 1pm. With Laneway opening it’s gate at the exact same time, I was pretty sure we were going to be late and might even miss the opening act; Warpaint !! We only managed to check in the hotel at 3pm and I was busy reading the updates on Laneway as LadyHawke prepares to get on stage. Missing two acts now, we grabbed a lunch and rushed over even though it was already starting to drizzle because there’s no way I’m going to miss Beach House.

Warpaint kicking it off at Laneway

Warpaint kicking it off at Laneway

Laneway Singapore Entrance

Blasting the rain away

Laneway Singapore Entrance

ladyhawke

Laneway Singapore Entrance

Laneway Singapore Entrance

Just as I arrived at the entrance, I heard Beach House starting off their set. Practically ran to the stage/big screen after getting my ticket validated; only to be mesmerised by Victoria Legrand on her organ and Alex Scally on guitar. They held me in a trance as I helplessly swayed to the music from Walk in the Park onwards. Her dreamy vocals and haunting lyrics made the rain feel like it was part of Beach House’s set as I closed my eyes and let her take the lead. Some of my favourites were Walk in the ParkZebra, Used To Be and Norway.

Beach House

Beach House

I was new to Deerhunter’s music and it was really interesting, to say the least. I really enjoyed Desire Lines; clapping to the beats as they start the song. It was  a contrast to the earlier set from Beach House.  Seeing the tall Bradford Cox with his bright yellow shirt and sun glasses on stage going wild and crazy was definitely a sight.

Deerhunter on stage

Deerhunter on stage

Bradford Cox

Bradford Cox

Having met Holy F*** backstage, I was really pumped to see them perform on stage. They were really down to earth and funny. The picture says it all.

Holy F***

Holy F***

The 4 members from Canada definitely got the crowd jumping and moving with their set. Using anything and everything from toy keyboards to toy phaser guns to achieve electronic-sounding effects without the use of laptops. I was definitely blown away and so were most of the people around me as everyone started going wild with their performance. Their music certainly makes one go Holy F***, that’s some good shit !!

Holy F*** on stage

Holy F*** on the big screen

Holy F*** on stage

Holy F*** on stage

I missed quite a bit of !!! (Chk Chk Chk)’s performance as nature calls. From what I manage to watch/hear Nic Offer is one crazy dude. He was running around on the stage and then did a little crowd dive; all this in his shorts/boxers !!! They even did a cover of the artist formerly known as Prince.

!!! from the VIP booth

!!! from the VIP booth

View of Fort Canning

View of Fort Canning

While waiting for Yeasayer we decided to walk around and get some food/drinks. Met some really really interesting people doing some really interesting stuff 🙂

All smiles

Grass slide

All smiles

The muddy people doing mud slides

All smiles

All smiles

I was sooooooo tempted to jump in and join in the fun, I mean like how often you get to roll around in mud and not make a totally fool of yourself, right ? Plus it really looks awesome to do a running start and slide down the hill which covered with mud; MUD SLIDE !!! Alas I didn’t, because all I could think of was how do I sneak pass the reception, take the elevator up to my room and not leave a muddy trail behind.

I wonder how he managed to stay so clean

I wonder how he managed to stay so clean

Yeasayer finally got on stage and opened with Madder Red and it was totally eargasmic !!! SERIOUSLY !!! This was also when it started to really pour and I decided to keep all electronics and just enjoy the show. Yeasayer definitely left an impression and am now listening to their album and some of the songs from their set that I like are One , Love Me GirlAmbling Alp and of course Madder Red. Though I have to say the Madder Red music video is rather weird !!

Yeasayer

Yeasayer

After all that waiting finally Foals got on stage. It started to rain even heavier now, the ponchos and umbrellas became everyone’s best friend. Despite the downpour everyone just stood their ground as Foals started their set with Spanish Sahara, the soothing music mixed with the rain was the best ever !!! It would never be the same again; the crowd, the mud, the rain,the emotions, it was just perfect ! It was well worth the wait and they definitely exceeded my expectations. Even now as I watch/listen to some of the video recordings on Youtube, I still can’t believe I was actually there watching them perform live !!!

Temper Trap on stage

Temper Trap on stage

TEMPER TRAP !!!! It was time for them to get on stage and give the crowd what they have been waiting for all night. Most were drenched, cold, tired, grumpy, agitated, some even started to leave before the they got on stage. Such a waste because as soon as they started with the drumbeats  the crowd just went crazy. Everyone was jumping waving their hands in the air and screaming at the top of their lungs. It was one hell of an intro as it lasted almost 5 mins and as they started their set with Rest.

Dougy Mandagi with his hypnotic voice sounds even better live and his falsetto can definitely send chills down the spine. From the first note to the final word, Temper Trap with their throbbing beats and flawless melodies puts you under a spell as you let the music take control.

Some of my favourites were  Love Lost, Down River, Fader and of course Sweet Disposition as they ended their set. It was ….

a moment, a love
a dream, a laugh
a kiss, a cry
our rights, our wrongs

… goosebumps !!!

As we were about to leave, I spotted a familiar face. Made my way near the exit and who do I bump into ? Dougy Mandagi of course, he was so polite and looked happy to be able to meet his fans. Everytime someone speaks to him in Indonesian he just smiles and answers back. It’s probably nice to meet fellow countrymen after travelling on the road for so long.

Dougy

Dougy Mandagi meets the fans

It's my turn

It's my turn

That’s when I realised I was all alone, my friends probably left and were already heading back to their hotel. I made my way back to the hotel with the widest grin ever as I browse through the pictures and videos I took, recollecting the moments and having a feeling of euphoria as my favourite tunes keep repeating themselves in my head. The experience of walking around Orchard Road at 2am barefoot was like icing on the cake !! Talk about a night to remember 🙂

 

Converse representing

Converse representing

Special thanks to Converse Malaysia for making it all possible and giving me the opportunity to be a part of this once in a lifetime experience. Laneway Singapore 2012, rain or shine we’ll be having a rocking good time !!

Some videos I manage to capture while Temper Trap were playing.

More write-ups on Laneway

2 Comments »

  1. Wao! No fair, you got to meet them bands! Good post, I enjoyed reading it…and memories man! Gotta agree with you cause I loved every bit of Laneway Fest and am still feeling some withdrawal syndrome, particularly of Holy F***’s music. Rarghhh!

    Comment by Faris NurHakim — February 4, 2011 @ 5:16 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks for dropping by Faris, it’s pure luck I tell you 🙂 Just have to listen to their music until the next Laneway fest or can always fly to the the nearby fest 😉

    Comment by yoga — February 7, 2011 @ 5:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

