just.yoga

March 14, 2011

Cendol @ Pinkberrys, Malacca


After much persuasion I’ve finally got my very own .com Please do update your bookmarks to my new blog

http://www.yogaretnam.com

 

Malacca is well  known for a lot of things and as a foodie the first thing that comes to mind is the delicious specialties they have such as chicken rice balls, satay celup and cendol. Got an invite from Cerventus to join him and a few other friends for a road trip to Malacca to do nothing other than go around sampling some of the hidden food treasures. Since he was a local, it was definitely an offer I couldn’t refuse.

I love my cendol and am always on the lookout for a perfect bowl.  Cerventus told us he would be bringing us to a shop that serves their cendol with authentic gula melaka made from palm sugar and not just thick brown sugar, and no it’s not located in Jonkers Street.

For those who don’t know what cendol is, here’s a quick rundown. It’s basically shaved ice, a worm-like jelly made from rice flour with green colouring (pandan), santan (coconut milk) and gula melaka (palm sugar).Next to these basic recipe; other ingredients such as red beans, glutinous rice, grass jelly, creamed corn and durian also can be included. The makings of a good cendol would be; smooth,sturdy and fragrant worm-like jelly, fresh, creamy, and undiluted coconut milk and definitely the gula melaka (palm sugar). This for me is what separates an average cendol to one that gives you the ultimate sugar rush.

Dataran Pahlawan

Dataran Pahlawan

We were brought to Dataran Pahlawan, initially I thought we were just parking our car there and will make our way to the cendol shop under some tree nearby. After all most of the best food in town are under a tree somewhere or a stall in some alley.

I had my doubts as we reached our destination; Pinkberrys dessert house, which was located in Dataran Pahlawan itself. One of the best cendol in town is in a mall ? For sure you must be kidding right ? Never try, never know. Looking at the menu I was already a little disappointed as there wasn’t any cendol pulut (glutinous rice) available, so I ordered something even better; cendol with durian !! My mouth was already watering just thinking of it. I certainly had high expectations out of this little store.

Pinkberrys

Pinkberrys

 

Unfortunately they use styrofoam bowls

Unfortunately they use styrofoam bowls

So here it is; Pinkberrrys Pandan and Durian cendol

Pandan Cendol

Pandan Cendol

Durian cendol

Durian cendol

Once I got the bowl, initial impression was “What’s so great bout this cendol ?”. Without tasting it I was being bias, yes I know but hey the anticipation for a perfect bowl has made me agitated. On the plus side they use real durian fruit flesh instead of some cream based one, which was already a point up in my books.

Initial reaction when taking a mouthful was; “OMG the shaved ice is so fine !!”. Seriously, this has to be one of the finest shaved ice I’ve tried on a cendol, it practically just melts away in your mouth, effortlessly. If you’ve ever tried Snowflake dessert, you’d know what I mean. The mixture of gula melaka and the rich santan was just PERFECT. You wont’ find your bowl overflowing with santan, nor would you find the gula melaka dripping off the sides of the bowl onto your hands. I hate kidney beans but this time around it was bearable, not too hard or mushy. The worm-like jelly was not frozen and had just the right consistency. The gula melaka was not too sweet or overpowering, giving the right mixture between the sweetness of the gula melaka and the creaminess of the santan. Add this perfect blend with fresh, good quality durian and you have a winning combination.

This has to be one of the best durian cendol I’ve had in a while and once I was finished with the bowl I was left me with a sugar-induced coma. I took 5 minutes to realise my surroundings and respond to the rest around me. Rebecca and Cerventus got a little afraid when I went into the coma and just stared into blank space. Real story 😀

Thanks Cerventus, Rebecca Saw, April Yim, Mei Ying for the invite and great company. It was fun, so when’s our next trip ?? 😉

If you’re ever in town, do try this little place out and let me know what you think about it or if you have any other die-die must try cendol spots do share as well 🙂

Additional info :

Pandan Cendol : RM 3.50
Durian Cendol : RM 5.00

 

View Larger Map

What friends think of Pinkberrys

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

